Preview: Slam - Collecting Data

24 May 2012 - - - The DJ List


Slam is releasing a compilation album called Collecting Data on June 10th, which contains some of Slam's best music that they hand picked from the past 4 years. For those who are unfamiliar with the Scottish duo, they have been around since the 90's and play a dark driving techno/house based music. They've played all around the world and had one of the best mix CD's ever released by Fabric in 2003. Their label Soma has released singles/remixes for the likes of JORIS VOORN, RADIO SLAVE, and LOCO DICE.

The first song off the album is a remix of SASHA's hit Coma. This remix has a futuristic techy beats to it and is a great alternative to the original. The second song is a remix off a SPENCER PARKER hit, Untitled Head. This track differs from all the other songs off the album as it's a housey tune that is very catchy, yet has a dark feel for it at the same time. The third track is by ALEX UNDER called El Alma del Tiempo, and this remix by Slam has a hard pounding techno sound that you would hear at an underground techno party. Slam's fourth song is the famous City Destroyer (Part 1). This mind boggling journey of a techno song has been used by the likes of RICHIE HAWTIN, ADAM BEYER, and SVEN VATH. Slam's final song in the album is another scorcher in Collecting Data. This track blends in a lot of layers to the beat but at the same time it doesn't dilute and overbear you with a bunch of different sounds all at once. It's a well balanced hit single worthy of an album title....

Sasha – Coma (Slam Remix)

Spencer Parker - Untitled Head (Slam RTM House Mix)

Alex Under - El Alma del Tiempo (Slam Paragraph Mix)

About the Author

Dale Take
adam beyer alex under joris voorn loco dice radio slave richie hawtin sasha spencer parker sven vath