Shiny Toy Guns iTunesShiny Toy Guns Beatport


Shiny Toy Guns is an alternative/electronic band which formed in 2002 in Los Angeles, California, United States. The band consists of Carah Faye Charnow (vocals), Chad Petree (vocals, guitar), Jeremy Dawson (synth, bass), Mikey Martin (drums) and Daniel Johansson (guitar, synth, bass).

Chad Petree and Jeremy Dawson grew up in Oklahoma and were involved in previous music projects together, including the soundtrack for the video game Grand Theft Auto III in 2000 and Cloud2ground. After relocating to Los Angeles, California, in 2004, the two recruited vocalist Carah Faye Charnow and drummer Mikey Martin. Their debut album, We Are Pilots was originally released in January 2005, though versions of the album featuring different cover art and tracklisting would be released later the following year. Three singles were issued: “Le Disko”, “You Are The One” and “Rainy Monday”. We Are Pilots received a Grammy Award nomination on December 6, 2007 in the category of Best Electronic/Dance Album, but lost to The Chemical Brothers. The band’s second studio album, Season of Poison, was released on November 4, 2008, with Sisely Treasure as vocalist. They have released two singles from their second album: “Ghost Town” and “Ricochet!”.

In 2009, Shiny Toy Guns released “Major Tom”, a Peter Schilling cover. In 2011, Carah Faye Charnow returned to Shiny Toy Guns. In addition, Charnow’s husband, Daniel Johannson also joined the band on guitar and bass.

In March 2011, the band released a new single “The Sun” available to download for free.