Top 25k on The DJ List

Rory Phillips

London, United Kingdom

Mixed Fortunes
Rory Phillips Beatport

Latest News

More News


From darkened basements to superclubs, Rory Phillips has been illuminating London’s nightlife for a decade now, with his residencies at Durrr, Our Disco and Trash as well as frequent appearances at clubs throughout the rest of Europe, North America and Asia.

Following a late 90’s apprenticeship ducking bottles in the provincial clubs of the UK, Rory moved to London where his eclectic taste and hunger for discovering new sounds caught the ear of Erol Alkan, who, following a series of late night track-swapping sessions, invited him to become a resident at his Monday night party Trash, hosting a room dedicated solely to new music, which was quickly followed by a regular headline slot at East London’s mutant disco Mecca, Our Disco.

Somewhere between his new discoveries for Trash and the crate digging of Our Disco, Rory’s signature sound was born. One eye to the future complimented by a predilection for unearthing lost gems. Post-Punk, Rock, Electro, Disco and Synthpop are all thrown into the mix with Rory joyously joining the dots between the genres, celebrating their similarities rather than accentuating the differences.

This approach has continued to his production work, best defined by last years remix compilation, released as a limited 12" on his own Hungry Beat imprint. Highlights included The xx’s Crystalised transformed into a moody, late night synth-pulser, Krautrock transported to the dancefloor with a riotous remix of Riton’s Eine Kleine Nacht Musik project, and the mutant funk of his remix of Units 1982 classic High Pressure Days. Original material has started to see the light of day too, in the form of Solar Breakfast released by kindred spirits In Flagranti on their Codek imprint.

Alongside further remix credits for The Golden Filter, New Young Pony Club, Scissor Sisters, Gossip, Chromeo and Of Montreal these form a body of work as diverse as the range of DJs that have played them, which, in the last year alone, has included Aeroplane, Erol Alkan, A Trak, Joakim, Mylo, Alex Metric, Rob Da Bank, Annie Mac, Simian Mobile Disco, Soulwax, Andrew Weatherall and Tiga.