Richard Yates BeatportRichard Yates BeatportRichard Yates Soundcloud


More Music


Richard Yates

(born 1979, Solihull, Birmingham)

Record Producer & Remixer

Yates began recording in 2008 on Portugal’s dance music label LAD Records and went on to produce the Shake Ep & Take It Higher Ep. The Shake Ep was his first release featuring ‘In Between the Lines’. This achieved best seller status on the label following popular downloads from the online music store beatport which specialises in electronic dance music and culture. In 2009 he joined forces with French duo Marylinn Drum remixing their second single “No Doctor” (released on Germany’s Doebler & Berg’s own imprint Vanilla Music), which also included remixes from French DJ/Producer Helmut Kraft. Yates also released Free Your Mind on LAD Records in 2009. In 2010 he produced Light Nights for LAD and a remix of Jules Spinner’s (Rollin On featuring Abi) on 953 recordings. He has recently joined forces with German label Tomymoto Records remixing tracks Breezing Summer by the Bengala Boys & producing ‘Coming from Chicago’ which is currently listed best seller on the label.

DJ & Promoter


In 2007 Richard Yates set up the club night Gettin’Deep at Sobar, situated in the Arcadian Centre/Birmingham. He then moved venues in 2008 and developed the Birmingham deep house club night gaining a large following. Gettin’Deep regularly held special events on bank holidays and had a regular slot once a month at venues Apres and Mechu in Summer Row. In 2008 Yates moved into dance music production, producing a string of original tracks, signing with LAD Records and also remixing for Vanilla Music. There are 6 Gettin’Deep compilation CD’s which include Yates’s original productions and remixes.

What is House Music

In July 2010, Yates launched his new club night ‘What Is House Music’. Bringing in DJ talent from around the Midlands. The night is all about house music – giving the general public something new, fresh and close to the ground in Birmingham. He continues to DJ & Produce internationally, attracting clubs & labels with his unique style of music.



01 Shake

02 In Between The Lines

03 The Underdog

04 Take It Higher (vocal version) lyrics/vocals written by Richard Yates

05 Take it higher (instrumental)

06 No Doctor – Marylinn Drum (Richard Yates Remix)

07 Free Your Mind (Vocal Version)

08 Free Your Mind (Instrumental)

09 Light Nights (Yates House Mix)

10 Light Nights (Yates Trumpet Mix)

12 Rollin On feat. Abi – Jules Spinner (Richard Yates Remix)

13 Breezing Summer – Bengala Boys (Richard Yates Remix)

14 Coming from Chicago


LAD Electronic Compilation 1 – Complied & mixed by DJ Luis Leite

(Including Richard Yates ‘In Between The Lines’)

The Tomymoto Trip Vol 1

(including Richard Yates ‘Coming from Chicago’)

External Links