Johnny Yono DiscogsJohnny Yono BeatportJohnny Yono HomepageJohnny Yono SpotifyJohnny Yono BeatportJohnny Yono Soundcloud

Music

More Music

Latest News

More News

Biography

Falling formerly under the very short-lived moniker ‘Johnny Y’, American DJ/Producer Johnny Yono was a late bloomer within the Electronic Dance Music scene. Born and raised in a suburb outside of Detroit, Michigan — his passion for electronic music began in the late 90’s when he was sucked in to Detroit’s underground rave scene. It wasn’t until years later that he started to experiment with producing his own music but, strictly as a hobby. After parting ways with his rock band in 2000, he was bit by the acting bug and further pursued a TV/Film career in Los Angeles after heading out West in 2003.

His love for electronic music found its way back to him in 2007 after seeing live performances by Armin Van Buuren, Paul Van Dyk and Sasha and Digweed. As his acting career was placed on the back-burner, Johnny quickly put a small studio together and began constructing dance music pieces and slowly crafted his edgy, Progressive Trance sound. It wasn’t until 2011 that his career really started to take shape. After being scouted by Daniel Kandi and Phillip Alpha, who saw great potential in Johnny after hearing his remix of Roger Shah’s single, “Lay Down”, he was soon-after signed exclusively to UK’s powerhouse Trance label, Enhanced Recordings.

The later part of 2011 leading in to early 2012 brought Johnny great success as he spawned his hit single, “Fairfax” which saw massive support from Armin van Buuren on ‘A State of Trance’ and also racked up four consecutive plays from Markus Schulz on ‘Global DJ Broadcast’ including winning the “Global Selection” vote on its follow-up play. The track also reached #11 on Beatport’s Top 100 Trance chart and was continuously hammered out in Markus’ live sets thereafter.

His music has been supported by the likes of Armin van Buuren, Markus Schulz, Dash Berlin, Rank 1, Richard Durand, M.I.K.E., Andy Moor, BT, Paul Oakenfold, Marco V, Orjan Nilsen, Sean Tyas, W&W, Ernesto Vs. Bastian, Arty, Mat Zo, Roger Shah, Jochen Miller, Lange, Ashley Wallbridge, Tritonal, Ronski Speed, tyDi, Bobina, Stoneface & Terminal, Marcus Schossow, Will Holland, Leon Bolier, Max Graham, Protoculture, Ruben De Ronde, Talla 2XLC, Daniel Kandi, and DJ Feel to name a few.

As a DJ — Johnny is certainly one to keep an eye on behind the decks. He has shared the stage with some of the biggest names in Electronic Dance Music including Roger Shah, Lange, Kyau & Albert, Tritonal, John ‘00’ Fleming and Thomas Bronzwaer.

You can catch his monthly radio show, ‘White Light Sessions’ on Pure.FM’s Trance Channel every 4th Friday of the month [11 a.m. PST | 2 p.m. EST | 19:00 GMT | 20:00 CET].

He is currently one of LA’s fast-rising talents and certainly an individual to keep an eye on in the coming years!